A Gluten-Free, Sugar Free Yellow Cake for the Healthy Mom

I know what you’re thinking. Gluten-free AND sugar free? For Mother’s day? Blech, no way! That can’t possibly taste good.

I’ll admit, when I began the task of making a gluten free and diabetic-friendly cake for my mom (who is trying to reduce her sugar intake), I was skeptical. I spent a month researching sugar replacements and asking my mom what she wanted in a cake that was slightly out of my realm of expertise. To the rest of the world, most people would throw in the towel, make some fruit salad and call it a day. But not me. I was determined to make this cake work. And as luck (and lots of testing!) would have it–it did!

My ‘test’ cupcakes

To begin my testing, I started with one of my favorite gluten free yellow cake recipes as my base. I first replaced the granulated sugar with raw agave (1 cup granulated sugar= 3/4 cup agave) and used coconut milk instead of regular milk to add some silkiness, and a bit of sweet. Then, to reduce the amount of white carbs (which are very unhealthy), I split the white rice flour with brown rice flour. The recipe took less than ten minutes to prepare!

You may think that in doing this I took out everything that makes a cake fluffy and sweet, moist and delicious. But even I, the queen of all sweet teeth, was surprised to find that this cake not only retained it’s fluffiness, but tasted better than a normal gluten free cake, with a lovely sweet flavor that lingered at the end of every bite. I didn’t miss the sugar! And it smelled good, too! How can you beat that?

Stay tuned for Sunday’s post, when I reveal the final product with all the icing :)

Gluten Free, Sugar Free Yellow Cake

Adapted from a recipe by Elizabeth Barbone

Dry ingredients:

1/2 cup brown rice flour
1/2 cup white rice flour
1 cup cornstarch
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon xanthan gum
1 teaspoon salt

Wet ingredients:

1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened
3/4 cup raw agave
4 eggs
1/2 cup coconut milk
2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and grease two 8-inch round cake pans or one 9 x 13-inch pan, or line 20 muffin cups with paper liners.

In a small bowl, stir together the dry ingredients. Set aside.

In a separate bowl, beat together the butter and agave until creamy, about a minute. Add the eggs and beat for 15 seconds.

Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and mix until well combined. Finally, stir in the milk and vanilla. Batter should be fluffy and light.

Pour batter evenly into pans and bake for 20-25 minutes (round cake pans/cupcakes) or 30 minutes (9×13-inch pan). Insert a cake tester into the center of the cake and if it comes out clean, the cake is done. Place on wire racks to cool and decorate as you please!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

