Pear, Chickpea and Avocado Salad with Raspberry Balsamic Dressing

For the last few weeks, I’ve been craving everything that’s bad for me. Chinese food, fried chicken, pasteles, chocolate. I don’t know what exactly caused this unhealthy streak, but it seemed to follow me around and whisper in my ear every time I came close to a meal. I mean, who can say no to mint chocolate chip ice cream? Not me.

And then today, a miracle happened.

While running errands and searching for a place to grab a quick bite, I found myself helplessly standing on the corner unable to make a dining decision. All my usual haunts (the taco shop, the Dominican restaurant, the diner, even the newly opened Five Guys) made my stomach do flips. I was suddenly craving HEALTHY food! Success!

I didn’t want to continue standing outside (lest I be tempted by the taqueria’s bright yellow awning), so I ran home and headed straight for the kitchen to see what I could whip up. The following is a bright medley of three foods I love, signaling the end of summer and the start of a season of comfort foods.

Let’s just hope I don’t regress and try to turn this into a pie tomorrow…

Pear, Chickpea and Avocado Salad with Raspberry Balsamic Dressing

By Emily of Mainly Gluten Free in NYC

Serves 3

Ingredients:

1 large pear, peeled
2 cans of chickpeas
2 ripe avocados
2 tablespoons Raspberry Balsamic Vinegar (or any Balsamic you prefer)
1 tablespoon olive oil

Slice the pear into small cubes and place in a large bowl. Rinse and drain chickpeas and add to the bowl. Next, peel and chop the avocados into thin slices. Combine gently with the pear and chickpeas.

In a small dish, whisk the Raspberry Balsamic Vinegar and olive oil together. Pour over salad and toss lightly to coat, taking care not to break the avocado slices. Add more vinegar if needed. Serve immediately for lunch, or as a side dish with corn chips. Enjoy!

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Pear, Chickpea and Avocado Salad with Raspberry Balsamic Dressing

  1. i love your blog content! cant wait to try many new recipes, thanks!

  2. Pingback: Happy Birthday, Blog! | (Mainly) Gluten Free in NYC

  3. Pingback: Baked Gluten Free Falafel | (Mainly) Gluten Free in NYC

Leave a Reply

