A trip to Puerto Rico! (Part I)

Sometimes, a girl’s just gotta go on vacation.

A few weeks ago I was itching to get out of the city, so as a last minute, ‘spur of the moment’ idea, my mom and I decided to go to Puerto Rico for the long holiday weekend. It was a short trip, but we packed a lot in! Over the next few posts, I will share with you the highlights of our trip, beginning with the sights.

The first thing I noticed about Puerto Rico was the difference in climate. I lived in Spain for a year, so I like warm weather…but tropical weather? Well, that’s a horse of a different color. It took a bit of time to get used to the humidity–and the constant back and forth of sun and rain. (Or, my personal favorite, sunny rain.)

an Old San Juan street shortly after rain

Still, it was beautiful.

We stayed in the historic city of Old San Juan, known for the massive walls that enclose some of the oldest parts of the city. I was impressed with the colorful buildings and cobblestone paths. The people were warm and friendly, and I enjoyed the chance to practice my Spanish.

During one of our walks, we visited the Castillo de San Cristobál, whose earliest construction dates back to the 1500s. I’m a huge geek when it comes to seeing historical sites, especially forts and castles, so I have to give my mom a shout-out for putting up with my fawning over this castle.

Hidden tunnels allowed for protection from intruders, some were pitch black inside!

Don’t be fooled, it’s a long way down…

view of Old San Juan, a port for many cruise ships

Of course, no trip would be complete without some time spent at the pool or beach. Our hotel had an amazing rooftop pool…

which lit up at night…

We tried to spend some time at the El Condado beach, and though it was a tad windy…

…the beautiful palm trees and crystal clear water made up for it.

Stay tuned for my next post, all about eating in Puerto Rico!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “A trip to Puerto Rico! (Part I)

Leave a Reply

