Strawberry Seltzer Waffles

I’ve written and re-written this post a number of times, trying to find an interesting story to pair with this dish.

But there isn’t one. It’s just a simple, everyday eat.

Last week, I made these Strawberry Seltzer Waffles for dinner with my dad. We had both had long weeks and were too tired and lazy to think of anything else to make. My week was so long, in fact, that I went out for dinner four times in seven days. I’d like to say that is a record for me but, sadly, it is not. For this, I blame the allure of New York City restaurants.

Making breakfast for dinner really helped me to relax and re-energize after my busy week. In the mornings, it usually takes me forever to make breakfast. If I have the time, I like to wake up slowly, cook something special and read a magazine while I eat. I rarely have enough time to make waffles so having them for dinner was a big treat. Using Pamela’s Pancake Mix, my dad and I had dinner ready in less than twenty minutes and, while the waffles were baking, we used the downtime to catch up. Now that’s what I call a relaxing night!

Note: I used seltzer instead of water in this recipe to make the waffles extra light, but you can always use water if you prefer.

Strawberry Seltzer Waffles

Adapted from a recipe by Pamela’s Products

Ingredients:

2 large eggs, separated
1 1/2 cups Pamelas Baking & Pancake Mix
2/3 cup seltzer (or water if you prefer)
1 tablespoon oil
1/2 cup strawberries, washed and thinly sliced
1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon

1. Whip egg whites until stiff.

2. In a separate bowl combine Pamela’s Baking & Pancake Mix, egg yolks, seltzer, oil and cinnamon until the batter is smooth.

3. Fold in stiff egg whites and strawberries and transfer batter to a liquid measuring cup with a wide spout.

4. Pour the batter evenly into a preheated, greased waffle iron. Bake until crispy. Serve warm with a dollop of butter. Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

