Avocado Salsa

It feels like summer here in New York City, and all I can think about is the beach, the sun, and foods that are light and refreshing. Because I’ve been so in the mood for these kinds of foods (and because all I want to do is go outside right now), my post today will be short and sweet, like this recipe. :)

I decided to make this Avocado Salsa after tasting it in a restaurant recently. I loved the creamy, sweet avocado with crunchy, tangy onions mixed in. Not as heavy as a guacamole or as peppery as a salsa, it was the perfect blend of flavors and textures. So, I came home and decided to re-create it, adding my own twists.  In place of red onion, I chose to use shallots. I also decided to add lemon juice and not lime juice to the salsa, with a sprinkle of garlic powder to give it an extra kick. At the restaurant this was served with quesadillas, but I prefer to use it as a dip.

Buen provecho!

Avocado Salsa

by Emily of (Mainly) Gluten Free in NYC

Ingredients:
1 plum tomato, washed and chopped into small cubes
1 shallot, finely chopped
2 teaspoons lemon juice
1 pinch garlic powder
1 teaspoon chopped fresh parsley or cilantro (optional)

Carefully toss tomato, avocado and shallots with lemon juice until completely combined. Carefully stir in garlic powder and optional parsley/cilantro. Serve on a burger, with tacos, quesadillas or as a dip on its own!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

