One-Bowl Shrimp Salad

My family has a lot of unfortunate food allergies. My mom is allergic to raw apples and gluten, my sister is allergic to the nitrates found in cold cuts, my dad can’t eat shrimp and I, of course, am mildly allergic to both gluten and lactose. Needless to say, it is a rare occasion to find some of the aforementioned items in our house. Furthermore, when we do cook with those ingredients, it is ALWAYS followed by a heavy-duty scrubbing of our sink, counter, stove and utensils.

Out of the combined allergies of my family, it is shrimp I miss the most. When I go out to eat I get my fix but the craving often lingers for days afterward. In its place I make tuna fish but sometimes I just need that shrimp-y goodness. When that happens, I make One-Bowl Shrimp Salad. A quick, no-mess, stressless lunch salad/sandwich filler that takes under ten minutes to prepare and even less time to clean up from making.

So, if you have family members with shellfish allergies as I do, you won’t have to worry about hosing down your kitchen just so they can walk in it again. Sounds simple? It is. But also completely satisfying and delicious.

One-Bowl Shrimp Salad

By Emily of (Mainly) Gluten Free in NYC

Ingredients:

2 cans cooked shrimp (I like Trader Joe’s Wild Pink Shrimp)
1 small stalk of celery, thinly diced
1/2 cup light mayonnaise
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
1/4 teaspoon tabasco sauce
1 1/2 teaspoons lemon juice
1/4 teaspoon dried onion flakes

Prepare the celery and add to a medium bowl. Rinse the top of the cans of shrimp (to avoid dirt and dust from seeping in), open with a can opener and drain all excess liquid from inside the cans. Be careful not to lose any shrimp in the process!

Add the fish to the bowl of celery and stir until combined. Add the mayonnaise to the bowl as well. (If transferring the mayo directly from its container to the bowl of shrimp, make sure to use two separate utensils for scooping out the mayo and stirring the mixture so as not to cross-contaminate). Add the remaining four ingredients and toss well. Seasoning may be adjusted to taste. Serve cold as a side or in between two slices of bread with lettuce and a roasted tomato! Enjoy!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “One-Bowl Shrimp Salad

  1. Pingback: Easy as Pie Gluten Free Pizza Pie (with Udi’s Pizza Crust!) | (Mainly) Gluten Free in NYC

Leave a Reply

