Gluten Free Matzoh!

On Passover, it is traditional to eat only unleavened bread. That means that any breads that have risen (such as challah or baguettes) are put aside for a whole week. In their place we get a wonderful gift: matzoh.

For those of us who can’t eat gluten, a week without bread is nothing new. As my first “Gluten Free” Passover approached five years ago, it wasn’t a big deal. I felt that without gluten I was already pretty much on the Passover diet. Then I realized my matzoh days were over.  All of a sudden, the holiday changed for me.

I have always loved matzoh- egg matzoh, chocolate covered matzoh, matzoh brei (fried matzoh with eggs and sugar–recipe forthcoming, I promise). Most people think it’s dry and tasteless. I delight in it. When I discovered it wasn’t gluten-free, I was torn. How could I give up something I only ate once a year? It all seemed a little unfair.

But then I learned to live without it. I almost forgot it existed. For five years.

Recently, I decided this situation had to change. I needed to make my own gluten free version. Matzoh, in its true form, is a simple cracker made of flour and water but this recipe is just as good as the original. And it’s super easy to make! Just serve it up with some butter and it’s a delicious snack or breakfast. With this recipe, you’ll never feel matzoh-deprived again!

Gluten Free Matzoh

Adapted from Gluten Free Bay

Ingredients:
2/3 cup potato starch flour
2/3 cup almond meal flour
1/2 tsp salt
2 teaspoons sugar
4  T butter or shortening
3 Tbsp warm water
3 Tbsp Egg Beaters

Preheat oven to 425 F. Cover a cookie sheet with sprayed parchment paper.

In a medium bowl, combine the dry ingredients.  If using butter, heat in microwave until soft (about three 5 second increments).

Mix butter/shortening into the dry ingredients using your hands. Add water a tablespoon at a time until the dough makes a ball and isn’t too sticky. Knead well. If the dough is sticky, add additional potato starch.

Sprinkle greased parchment with a bit of potato starch. Place dough onto greased parchment, cover with an additional sheet of parchment and roll into a thin rectangle. Smooth out edges, if desired, score with a serrated knife in cracker-size shapes and use a fork to prick rows of holes. Generously spread egg wash and sprinkle salt over crackers. Cook for 10 minutes, until crackers begin to brown.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Gluten Free Matzoh!

  1. Heather

    I’ll have to try this when my mom visits next weekend. She’s made me gf matzah before but I’ll have to try this recipe. THANKS EM!

  2. Pingback: Matzoh Brei | (Mainly) Gluten Free in NYC

  3. Pingback: Happy Birthday, Blog! | (Mainly) Gluten Free in NYC

  4. Pingback: An Attempt at Easter Egg Cookies | (Mainly) Gluten Free in NYC

Leave a Reply

