Easy GF Eating: Zesty Red Pepper Spread & Fresh Mozzarella Panini

I’ve never been a huge fan of sandwiches. If given the option, I would always choose something hot and homemade, or just a plain old Caesar salad. As a youngster, I happily ate my two favorite sandwiches for lunch at school: ham with Jarlsberg cheese or JIF Crunchy Peanut Butter (a father-daughter tradition). Being gluten intolerant didn’t affect me much in this way although I do have a weak spot for bread. (I think you don’t truly know pain until you have to refuse bruschetta in Italy because you can’t eat gluten)

A few posts back, I mentioned Udi’s GF Bread and how much I use it in my everyday life. My mom, Karen, likes it too and has developed her own sandwich recipe out of it, which I will share with you all: Zesty Red Pepper Spread & Fresh Mozzarella Panini. This panini will seriously knock your socks off so…hold on.

Zesty Red Pepper Spread & Fresh Mozzarella Panini
By Emily’s Mom, Karen

Ingredients
2 slices Udi’s Gluten Free Sandwich Bread (White or Whole Grain works!)
2 medium slices fresh mozzarella (best when found at an italian grocery!)

2-3 tablespoons Trader Joe’s Roasted Red Pepper and Eggplant Spread (normally I would make my own, but this spread is so delicious I can’t bring myself to use anything else)
2 teaspoons olive oil

Lather each slice of bread with about one and a half tablespoons of the red pepper spread. Place the cheese on top of one of the lathered slices of bread. Cover with the other slice of bread, pepper spread side down and rub about a teaspoon of olive oil on the top. Cook the panini in a non-stick fry pan, oil side down. To flatten it out, I use a large spatula or a plate. Before turning to the other side, make sure to add a little olive oil to the top of the bread about to be flipped. Cook each side until golden brown.

Things I love about this sandwich:
1. It’s comforting and gives new meaning to “grilled cheese”.
2. It’s quick and easy.
3. It goes great with soup!
4. Even the spread is gluten free!

We often put the spread out by itself with veggies or crackers as a party hors d’oeuvre, though I’m sure mini versions of this panini would be a hit as well! Enjoy!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Easy GF Eating: Zesty Red Pepper Spread & Fresh Mozzarella Panini

  1. Pingback: Easy as Pie Gluten Free Pizza Pie (with Udi’s Pizza Crust!) | (Mainly) Gluten Free in NYC

  2. Pingback: Roasted Red Pepper and Eggplant Spread Hummus | (Mainly) Gluten Free in NYC

  3. Pingback: Happy Birthday, Blog! | (Mainly) Gluten Free in NYC

Leave a Reply

