The Great Gluten Free Bread Search!

As a soccer player in HS, I used to stock up on carbs every night before a game (something I could never get away with now!) and bread was a big part of that. I was in college when I learned I was gluten intolerant, and figuring out how I was going to manage a dining hall full of gluten was tricky. No more bagel station. No more fresh bread for holiday dinners. Major disappointment.

That was four years ago. Since then, I’ve come to learn that life without bread isn’t terrible, but it’s certainly not the most fun. I’ve tried all brands of GF bread and mixes but I always run into the same problems (I bet you can guess what they are): too expensive, too many flours to buy, the bread falls apart in your hands or is as hard as a rock and tastes like one too. I started making my own from time to time, which was very time consuming, and it had to be eaten in a few days or else it would turn stale. For a while, I had just given up bread entirely. I even forgot the word existed.

Until my mom discovered Udi’s. Udi’s, a Denver based artisan bakery, began making GF products a few years ago when Master Baker Chadwick White decided to make a better GF bread for his friend who had celiac disease. The result was an unbelievable product. A bread that tastes like it’s regular bread, that isn’t grainy or full of fat (in fact, one serving, or two slices, is only 160 calories!), and doesn’t fall apart in your hands. AND, it’s dairy-free, soy-free and nut-free! The best part is, it is sold across the country and available at Whole Foods and many other grocery stores so it’s completely accessible! The package may look small, but don’t be fooled. One bread can last just a few people a few weeks—though it’s so delicious, it may be gone in one weekend!

I use my Udi’s bread for everything. As a snack with butter or jam, to make croutons or a grilled cheese sandwich. They even make pizza crusts! Don’t wait, check it out at your local grocery store!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “The Great Gluten Free Bread Search!

  1. Pingback: Easy as Pie Gluten Free Pizza Pie (with Udi’s Pizza Crust!) | (Mainly) Gluten Free in NYC

Leave a Reply

