Porter House: a NYC restaurant week treat!

Steak Frites

Twice a year comes Restaurant Week in New York City, or as I like to call it: Eat-Out-As-Much-As-Humanly-Possible Month. Featuring reduced price prix-fixe menus, restaurant week draws New Yorkers and tourists alike to some of the city’s best and otherwise expensive dining spots. Although my status as a recent college grad keeps me from going to every participating restaurant, I do try to pick one special place to go and sink my teeth into.

I realize that this post is not going to be typical of me. Writing about a restaurant that is, to be sure, already well-known and well-loved is not usually my style, but after the dining experience I had at Porterhouse New York, I couldn’t resist the opportunity to share it with you all.

Walking into the restaurant, located at Columbus Circle on the fourth floor of the Time Warner Center, I forgot I was in the middle of a bustling Manhattan neighborhood. After the hostess offered to check my coat I was led into a large, brightly lit dining room which featured beautifully decorated tables and booths alike. On a Friday afternoon, I could see Central Park covered in snow from the giant windows that line the restaurant. It felt elegant, yet completely relaxing.

In addition to the wonderful atmosphere of the restaurant, Porter House is famous for its array of steak. Led by executive chef Michael Lomanaco, the restaurant’s prix-fixe menu for restaurant week lunch costs $24.07, and includes an appetizer, main course and dessert. Both my friend and I ordered the caesar salad and steak frites, going our separate ways on dessert (she picked the mango sorbet and I went for my weakness: flourless chocolate cake). Everything was fresh and arrived quickly and beautifully arranged on our plates. The steak frites was the best part: a classic rib eye full of flavor with a side of thinly sliced french fries. The chocolate cake was warm and rich, topped with the most amazing dollop of whip cream I’ve ever tasted. Is your mouth watering yet? Mine certainly was.

Classic Caesar Salad

Mango Sorbet

Flourless Chocolate Cake

For more information about restaurant week, which continues until February 27, visit NYC Go. I hope you find some new favorite places to eat!

**Please note that some of these dishes may contain gluten. Always check with your server before ordering**

Porter House New York on Urbanspoon

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Porter House: a NYC restaurant week treat!

  1. Pingback: Happy Birthday, Blog! | (Mainly) Gluten Free in NYC

Leave a Reply

